Select Page

About Us

Deborah Ford Larson  Co-President
Classical music has always been a part of Debbie’s life. She has a good working knowledge of violin, cello and piano and plays cello and violin with McLean (VA) Symphony, a community orchestra. Debbie also plays with various informal piano trios, piano quartets and string quartet groups. Early in her career after graduating from Tufts University (Medford, MA), Debbie taught elementary school in Washington DC (Washington National Cathedral- Beauvoir School). She began what became a long career in residential real estate in Northern VA/Washington, DC which continues today. Some of the musical highlights of her life include attending Canadian fiddle camp in Ottawa in 2010 and teaching music appreciation to Haitian students in the summer of 2017 and 2018.

Debbie is married to William (Bill) Larson. They have four adult daughters and two grandchildren between them and reside both in Sanibel, FL and McLean, VA.

Shirley Furry Witte  Co-President
Shirley Furry Witte spent nearly three decades in Arts Management as Executive Director of three professional orchestras: West Virginia Symphony, Hartford Symphony, and Southwest Florida Symphony. While raising her family, she also from time to time in various locations, taught piano lessons, was an assistant or substitute organist, organized a musical kindergarten, and was a partner in a training and communications company. Shirley received a BS degree in Education from Ohio State University with an additional music major from the University of Delaware.

While serving as substitute organist at Sanibel Congregation Church, she met George
Witte. They were married in 2013 and live on Sanibel–or will again when their house recovers from Ian. Shirley and George have five adult children and thirteen grandchildren between them.

Sanibel Music Festival Board Members  (in alphabetical order)

Edwin Ciskowski  Treasurer

David Conrad

Roberta Conrad  Secretary

Douglas Garde

Linda Garde

Gloria Garrett

Carol Good

Walter Lazear

Nina Orell Vice-President

Sue Pick

Sheryl Steele

Jana Stone Past President